Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Ice Day?

Ice Day? Or snow day? Well, it's nice and icy out there. It snowed and there was freezing rain. Very hard to walk, I basically ice-skated all the way back from class this morning. But it's an extremely beautiful sight. I think Kayla, Kate and I are going to take pictures shortly.

This week has been better, now that everything seems to be taken care of. Monday morning, my dad came all the way to Evansville to have breakfast with me. We went to IHOP. Breakfast with my dad can make anything better. I love him for being the best dad ever. He brought me some money to pay for my new key and new student i.d. After he brought me back to school, the day was suddenly brighter. I wasn't worried about my stuff. I wasn't freaking out anymore. There are other things that I need to focus on, especially my schoolwork. As soon as Residence Life opened at 8 am, I was there, ready to have a key made. I made my request and headed to work. I made a few transparencies and studied art. I went to anatomy & then art. I had lunch and worked on my paper for FYS. Then I went to FYS, which was a lecture on Hinduism. Kinda interesting, got the wheels in my brain turning. After FYS, Kayla and I trekked to Safety & Security to get me a new student i.d. That was only $5, plus I got to keep my old picture, which was good cause I really liked that picture. Then I went to pick up my new room key. (I will be receiving the $25 bill for that shortly.) I then preceded to Old National Bank to order a new debit card. The lady at the bank was super nice and extremely helpful. (Plus no charge for a new card! Woooo!) That was the extent of replacing everything I could at the time. I still need to head home sometime this week/weekend to get a new driver's license. 

Last night, we went to Hacienda for College Mentors for Kids. Molly and Anna are in it and they were having a donation thing at Hacienda. We had a large group (Kayla, Anna, Molly, Kate, Rachel, Lacey, Jessica, and I) there and it was extremely fun. We laughed a lot and told silly secrets. :) We came outside afterwards, and the freezing rain had started. I helped scrape Anna's windshield, very icy. We dropped off a few of the friends and then went to PetSmart. Anna had wanted a fish for the longest time, and I needed to replace my beloved Fransisco. So we got to PetSmart, and as soon as I got to the goldfish fish tank, I found the perfect fish. His name is Fredrick, and he's super adorable. He's white with a little bit of red and enormous black eyes. He's already swimming and interacting more than Fransisco did. I feel like he's gunna last longer. Anna got Belle, a regular orange goldfish. She's pretty cute as well, kinda looks like Ted (Kayla's goldfish). That was a fun trip.

Today, I woke up to snow/ice on the ground. I was ecstatic!!!! I checked my phone for a text message saying classes were cancelled. Nothing. I proceeded to open my laptop and check for an email. Nothing. I was highly disappointed. I really wanted to not have to go to class. So I got ready and headed to my 9 am lab. As I got outside, I realized it was still freezing rain. Not fun walking to an early morning lab. But I actually enjoyed the lab today, we got to look at hearts. Pretty interesting. Still freezing rain as I left lab and headed back to my dorm room. I got back to my room, watched Good Morning America, anxiously checking my email every 5 minutes hoping for an email saying no classes. No such luck. I went to Psychology, barely paying attention, which is ok because everything he talks about is in the lecture notes. Check my phone as I'm leaving class and find out campus is shutting down at 3 pm. WOO! This was exciting, except I was done for the day. Oh well, maybe tomorrow's classes will be cancelled. I spent the rest of the afternoon, laying in my bed watching Full House and Gilmore Girls. Eventually falling asleep for about an hour. A nap is always needed. :)

Going to explore the icy wonderland! Pictures later!! :D

No comments:

Post a Comment

Followers